IF, Moots, Parlee do The Stelvio


I made a detour to drive this famous piece of road which has a reputation not only with cyclists but also drivers and film buffs who will remember the famous “Muira vs tractor” scene at the start of the original “Italian Job”.

I must say to all those who have ridden it – simply amazing, and there were plenty beating themselves up when I drove it.

One customer had just returned from a spell in Bormio and told me there were 48 hairpins and sure I had seen the iconic photo of the pass from the summit down towards Bolzano, but I must admit I was a little shocked.

Not only the relentless gradient, the accelerations around the hairpins but also having to deal with trucks, buses, motorbikes and me around a road that is very narrow -cyclists have a lot to contend with. Temp was 18 deg C at the bottom and 1 deg C at the top.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

