Fast, Stiff, Fun – Vamoots RSL Owner feedback – 1


Grant was clear from the start what his Moots RSL would be and here it is below with his first and subsquent rides feedback we received by email today:

“The Moots RSL is finally finished. It rides great.

I’ve taken it on a few rides I’m familiar with over typical Bargo –
Pheasants Nest type roads, so not great surfaces but the type it will get
ridden on.

Initially…

I was a bit worried first up. The rear is very stiff; stiffer than the BMC
ProMachine! A few kilometers and I was used to it though. The wheels help
take a bit of the edge off and once I was settled I found it to be
comfortable. The front end is also very stiff as well, again stiffer than
the BMC. I never thought the BMC was all that forgiving vertically but the
Moots is a bit stiffer. The steering of the Moots is also quicker, with the
one degree steeper head angle being obvious. It’s brilliant when riding
normally or pushing it a bit, but taking a hand off the bars to relax or
have a drink is a bit more work.

The IRC tyres feel significantly better than the Hutchinson Fusion 3s. They
feel much more supple and grip nicely. Time will tell how they hold up to
punctures.

Di2 is fantastic. Downshifting the rear is super smooth. The front shifting
is amazing both up and down. The rear is a little slower on the upshifts and
I’ll have to get used to one gear change at a time. I’ve since realised that
, it’s me having to change my mindset from waiting for it to change and then
clicking again. I experimented a little and if I just click a few times it
changes as soon as it can. If this isn’t changed for the next DA Di2 version
I’ll be very surprised as it seems to be the only slightly negative aspect
to the gears. Brake levers and hoods feel very nice.

Overall, I’m extremely happy with the bike. I’m glad that it is different
enough from the BMC that there are significant differences. A few more rides
with a bit more fitness should see me being even more impressed.

A few rides later…

The Moots is amazing! A few rides in and it is definitely better than the
BMC. The steering is spot on. Descending on the way to and from Nepean and
Avon Dams was much more fun and confidence inspiring on the Moots. It just
goes exactly where I want, where the BMC has a little understeer and
requires more effort to hold a line through a bend. Climbing is excellent. I
enjoyed the climbs this morning as much as I think I’m ever going to enjoy
climbing.

I’m happy with the set up now, gears all work brilliantly and I can’t think
of a better tyre/wheel combo for around here. I’m really looking forward to
testing it out on my commute and getting a bit fitter to really put the bike
through its paces.

Frame: Moots Vamoots RSL with a larger diameter downtube and Di2 specific
cable routing
Fork: Moots RSL
Wheels: Shimano Dura Ace 7900 C24 TL
Brakes and Drivetrain: Shimano 7970 Dura Ace Di2
Pedals: Shimano Dura Ace 7900
Tyres: IRC Formula Pro with X-Guard tubeless.
Stem: Moots RSL 100mm +6deg.
Handlebars: Ritchey WCS alloy
Grips: Lizard Skins.
Seat Post: Moots RSL
Seat: Fizik Arione CX
Headset: Cane Creek 110
Bottle Cages: King titanium”.

Thanks Grant, over to you Brett!

Leave a Reply

